If you have tattoos and want a real ryokan stay with a hot spring bath, the most dependable choice is a ryokan that states its tattoo policy on its official website and gives you a private way to bathe: a bath in your room, or a private bath you can use alone. Below we compare seven ryokan and onsen hotels whose policies we checked on their official websites, and explain exactly what each one allows.
Not every option on this list gives you a private soak in natural hot spring water. At one property the private baths use heated water, and at another the written tattoo policy covers only the large shared bath. The comparison table shows which baths are confirmed hot springs.
How to read this list
“Best” here means best match for travelers with tattoos, based on the criteria below. It is not an official ranking. Every policy was checked on the property’s official website on October 15, 2026. Policies, prices and bath rules can change, and room rates vary by plan, room type and date, so confirm again before you pay.
We are not paid by any property on this page. Property links go to each official website.
Quick Answer: What Kind of Ryokan Should You Book?
Choose a ryokan that says, on its own website, that guests with tattoos can use a specific bath, and then book that bath. These are the usual options, from most to least predictable:
- A room with its own hot spring bath, at a property whose policy does not restrict tattoos. You never share the water with anyone.
- A ryokan with no tattoo restrictions at all. You can use the private bath and the shared baths.
- A ryokan that bans tattoos in the shared bath but sends tattooed guests to its private baths. This works well, as long as the private bath is available when you want it.
Do not book a ryokan only because it “has a private bath”. A private bath is often fine for guests with tattoos, but each property sets its own rule. If you want the background first, read why many onsen restrict tattoos.
Best Tattoo-Friendly Ryokan and Onsen Stays in Japan, Compared
How we chose these places
A property made this list only if all of the following were true on its official website on October 15, 2026:
- It states a tattoo policy in writing, either for the property or for its operator.
- That policy gives guests with tattoos a clear way to bathe: in-room, private, or shared.
- It has a private bath or rooms with their own bath.
- You can book it online or by phone.
English support was not a requirement. Most of these properties have English pages, but the level of English help from staff is rarely stated. Two need extra care: Kadensho’s official pages we checked are in Japanese, and Ichinoi has machine-translated English pages but says its staff speak Japanese only. Each card below includes a “Language” line.
We looked at many more ryokan, including well-known inns in Beppu, Yufuin and Kyoto. We left them out when the official website did not mention tattoos. That does not mean they refuse tattoos. It means we could not confirm it.
Comparison table
| Property | Area | Private bathing | Official tattoo policy (summary) | Natural hot spring water (baths open to guests with tattoos) | Private bath booking | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yamamotoya | Kinosaki Onsen, Hyogo | 1 private open-air bath; 2 rooms with a half-open-air bath | Guests with tattoos may use the inn’s baths | Confirmed: the men’s bath, the women’s bath, the private open-air bath “Senyu”, and Kinosaki’s public bathhouses. Half-open-air baths in Special Rooms 121/122: Not confirmed | Staying guests only; reserve in advance by email; paid | First trip, onsen-hopping town |
| Fukuzumiro | Hakone (Tonosawa), Kanagawa | Family bath and other private-use baths | No particular restrictions on tattoos | Confirmed: the two shared baths and the family bath, all described on the official hot spring page | No advance booking; arrange at the inn after check-in (official pages word this differently) | Historic ryokan, Tokyo side trip |
| KAI Sengokuhara | Hakone (Sengokuhara), Kanagawa | Every room has a private open-air hot spring bath | Does not restrict tattoos; may refuse the shared bath if other guests could be uneasy | Confirmed: the open-air hot spring bath in every room | Not needed: the bath is in your room | Couples, special occasions |
| Kashiwaya Ryokan | Shima Onsen, Gunma | 3 private open-air baths; 2 rooms with an in-room open-air onsen | Tattoos are “no problem” | Confirmed: the 3 private open-air baths and the in-room onsen in 2 rooms | No booking; use when free | Quiet mountain onsen from Tokyo |
| Ryokan Ichinoi | Kurokawa Onsen, Kumamoto | 4 private baths | No restrictions on tattoos | Confirmed: the 4 private baths and the shared indoor and open-air baths (flowing sulfur spring) | Staying guests only; book at the front desk on the day; paid | Kyushu road trips |
| Kadensho | Arashiyama, Kyoto | 5 private baths; rooms with an open-air bath | Shared bath not allowed with tattoos of any size; use in-room or private baths | Not hot spring: the 5 private baths use heated water. In-room baths: Not confirmed. The hot spring bath is in the shared bath, which is closed to guests with tattoos | Free; no booking; use when free | Kyoto sightseeing base |
| Hotel Koryu | Lake Kawaguchi (Mt. Fuji) | Paid private bath; rooms with an open-air bath | Tattoos allowed in the large bath, if you follow bath etiquette. Private and in-room baths are not mentioned | Confirmed: the large shared hot spring baths (covered by the tattoo policy). Private bath and in-room baths: Not confirmed | Reserve in advance by phone or when booking; paid | Mt. Fuji views, families |
Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.
“Not confirmed” means the official website does not say. It does not mean the bath is not a hot spring. Room rates vary by plan, room type and date. Prices in the cards below are official starting prices on October 15, 2026.
1. Yamamotoya (Kinosaki Onsen): best for a first tattoo-friendly onsen trip
- Area: Center of Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka, Hyogo (northern Kansai)
- Baths: Men’s and women’s baths, the private open-air bath “Senyu”, and two Special Rooms (121/122) with a half-open-air bath. The official English site describes the men’s bath, women’s bath and private open-air bath as hot spring baths for staying guests. It does not say whether the Special Rooms’ half-open-air baths use hot spring water.
- Tattoo policy (official): “Guests with tattoos are allowed to use the baths at our hotel.” This statement is on the English bath page.
- Private bath rules: Staying guests only. Reserve in advance by email. Up to 2 people, 40 minutes, ¥1,100 (tax included). Only 5 slots a day.
- Price: Official plans listed from ¥20,900 per person (tax included). Rates vary by plan, room and date.
- Best for: Travelers who want a classic ryokan and a whole town of baths to try
- Language: English website. The level of English help from staff is not stated.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: Kinosaki’s public bathhouses accept tattoos of any size, with no need to cover them, according to the town’s official visitor site. Yamamotoya sits on the willow-lined main street, and the front desk gives guests a free pass for the bathhouses. With only five private bath slots a day, the inn’s own baths and the public bathhouses are your backup.
Watch out: Book the private bath when you book your room, because slots are limited. Two bathhouses were closed for renovation when we checked (Kono-yu until October 30, 2026, and Satono-yu with no reopening date), so check the town’s site before you go.
See Yamamotoya’s official bath and tattoo information2. Fukuzumiro (Hakone): best for a historic ryokan with no tattoo rules
- Area: Tonosawa Onsen, Hakone, about a 5-minute drive from Hakone-Yumoto Station
- Baths: Two shared baths (a large round pine tub and a rock bath) that switch between men and women by time, plus private-use baths, including a family bath
- Tattoo policy (official): The Japanese FAQ says the inn has no particular restrictions on tattoos (当館でタトゥーに対して特に規制はございません).
- Private bath rules: No advance booking. The two official pages describe this differently: the bath page says private baths are reserved at the inn in order of arrival from 3:00 p.m. check-in, while the FAQ says the family bath needs no reservation and can be used whenever it is free. Ask at check-in.
- Price: The official rate table lists dinner-and-breakfast plans from ¥24,900 per person (early-booking rate, 2–3 guests per room). Rates vary by plan, room and date.
- Best for: Travelers who want a historic wooden ryokan and the freedom to use every bath
- Language: English website. We confirmed the tattoo FAQ on the Japanese site. The level of English help from staff is not stated.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: Fukuzumiro opened in 1890, and its wooden building is a registered cultural property. Because the inn has no tattoo restriction, you can use the shared baths too, not only the private ones.
Watch out: Only one room (Sakura-2, the special room) has its own bath and toilet. Other rooms share them. There is no elevator. If you need an in-room bath, look at KAI Sengokuhara instead.
View Fukuzumiro’s official English site3. KAI Sengokuhara (Hakone): best for an in-room open-air onsen
- Area: Sengokuhara, Hakone, about 15 minutes by car from Gora Station
- Baths: Every one of the 16 rooms has a private open-air hot spring bath on its terrace. There are also shared baths for staying guests.
- Tattoo policy (official, Hoshino Resorts): “We … do not restrict the use of our facilities based on tattoos. However … we may refuse access to the public bath if we believe that the presence of tattoos could cause discomfort or concern among other guests.”
- Private bath rules: No booking needed. The bath belongs to your room for your whole stay.
- Price: Rates vary by plan, room and date. Check the official site.
- Best for: Couples and special trips where you want a hot spring bath of your own
- Language: English website and English tattoo policy page. The level of English help from staff is not stated.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: This is the most straightforward setup on the list. The policy is written by the operator, and the hot spring bath is part of your room, so the condition on the shared bath does not affect your main soak.
Watch out: The shared bath can still be refused at staff discretion. Plan to use the bath in your room. The official page lists no shuttle service, so plan a taxi or bus from Gora.
View KAI Sengokuhara on the official siteTattoo policy page: Hoshino Resorts bathing guidelines
4. Kashiwaya Ryokan (Shima Onsen): best for free private baths near Tokyo
- Area: Shima Onsen, Gunma, about 3 to 3.5 hours from Tokyo Station (inn’s estimate)
- Baths: Three private open-air baths, a shared bath, and two rooms (“Hana” and “Kame”) with their own open-air onsen
- Tattoo policy (official): The English FAQ answers “I have tattoos. Can I enter the hot springs?” with “No problem,” and points guests to the private baths and in-room baths. The inn’s own blog says guests with tattoos can use all of its baths.
- Private bath rules: No reservations. Use a bath when it is empty. A lamp in the corridor shows when a bath is in use. Staying guests only.
- Price: Rates vary by plan, room and date. Check the official price list.
- Best for: Travelers who want a quiet mountain onsen and private baths without booking a time slot
- Language: English website and English FAQ. The level of English help from staff is not stated.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: You can use the three private baths as often as you like during your stay, with no booking. The inn also sells a weekday plan that includes a ticket for the direct bus from Tokyo, which helps if you do not read Japanese.
Watch out: Only two rooms have their own bath. If you want one, book that specific room type.
Read Kashiwaya’s official FAQ on tattoos and private baths5. Ryokan Ichinoi (Kurokawa Onsen): best for Kyushu
- Area: Kurokawa Onsen, Minamioguni, Kumamoto (central Kyushu)
- Baths: Men’s and women’s indoor and open-air baths, plus four private baths, all using flowing sulfur hot spring water
- Tattoo policy (official): “Our hotel does not have any restrictions on tattoos.” This is written in English and Japanese on the inn’s FAQ.
- Private bath rules: Staying guests only. Reserve at the front desk on the day. 45 minutes, ¥1,000 (tax included). Last booking 9:30 p.m. Not available in the morning.
- Price: Rates vary by plan, room and date. Check the official booking page.
- Best for: Self-drive trips in Kyushu, and travelers who want a sulfur onsen
- Language: Machine-translated English pages. The inn says its staff speak Japanese only.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: The policy is clear and covers all of the inn’s own baths, so you are not limited to private baths.
Watch out: The English site says staff speak Japanese only and the English pages are machine-translated. The inn has many stairs and no barrier-free facilities. The policy covers Ichinoi’s own baths only. Other Kurokawa inns set their own rules.
View Ryokan Ichinoi’s official English pageTattoo FAQ (Japanese and English): ichinoi.jp/contact
6. Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Kadensho: best for a Kyoto base, with one catch
- Area: Arashiyama, Kyoto
- Baths: Shared baths (the indoor stone bath uses natural Arashiyama hot spring water), five private baths, and some rooms with an open-air or semi-open-air cypress bath
- Tattoo policy (official, operator Kyoritsu Resort): Guests with tattoos of any size cannot use the shared bath. The FAQ asks them to use the in-room bath or the private baths instead.
- Private bath rules: Free, no booking, open 24 hours. Use one when its “in use” lamp is off.
- Price: Rates vary by plan, room and date. Check the official site.
- Best for: Travelers who want to stay in Kyoto and still have a private soak
- Language: The official pages we checked (bath, rooms, tattoo FAQ) are in Japanese. Ask about English support before booking.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
The catch: The official bath page lists all five private baths as わかし湯 (heated water), not natural hot spring water. Only the shared indoor bath uses the Arashiyama hot spring, and tattoos are not allowed there. The official room pages do not say whether the in-room cypress baths use hot spring water. If that matters to you, ask before booking.
Watch out: The operator also runs Umekoji Kadensho and Omuro Kadensho in Kyoto, and its official site warns that guests often confuse them. Check the name on your booking.
Check Kadensho’s official bath page (Japanese)Tattoo policy: Kyoritsu Resort FAQ (Japanese)
7. Hotel Koryu (Lake Kawaguchi): best for Mt. Fuji and families
- Area: Fuji-Kawaguchiko Onsen, Yamanashi. A free shuttle runs from Kawaguchiko Station (afternoon hours only).
- Type: An onsen hotel with Japanese-style and Western-style rooms, not a traditional small ryokan
- Baths: Large hot spring baths, open-air baths, a paid private bath, and lake-view rooms with an open-air bath. The official site does not say whether the private bath and in-room baths use hot spring water.
- Tattoo policy (official): “Can I use the large bathroom even if I have tattoos? Yes, you can. However, please follow Japanese bathing etiquette.” The FAQ does not mention the private bath or the in-room baths.
- Private bath rules: Reservation required, by phone or when you book your room. ¥3,300 per use. The site lists the session as both 45 and 50 minutes, so confirm. Pay at check-out.
- Price: Rates vary by plan, room and date. Check the official site.
- Best for: Families and groups who want Fuji views and a large hot spring bath that the written policy opens to guests with tattoos
- Language: English website and English FAQ. The site lists email contact, and its inquiry form is marked Japanese only.
- Checked: October 15, 2026
Why choose it: Here the written policy covers the large shared bath, which most places restrict, so you are not dependent on getting a private slot.
Watch out: The hotel warns that some overseas booking sites resell its rooms and may wrongly list a room as “with private bath”. It assigns rooms based only on the booking details it receives. If you want the open-air bath room, book it on the official site. If you plan to use the private bath or an in-room bath, ask the hotel to confirm that its tattoo policy covers it.
View Hotel Koryu’s official English siteHow to Choose a Tattoo-Friendly Ryokan
The word “private” covers several different baths. Know which one you are booking.
| Bath type | What it is | For guests with tattoos | Examples above |
|---|---|---|---|
| In-room bath (客室露天風呂など) | A bath that belongs to your room. It may or may not use hot spring water | Usually the most predictable option, if the tattoo policy covers it. Check whether it uses hot spring water. | KAI Sengokuhara (all rooms) and Kashiwaya (2 rooms): hot spring confirmed. Kadensho (some rooms): water not confirmed. Hotel Koryu (some rooms): water and tattoo policy not confirmed |
| Private-use bath (貸切風呂) | A bath your group uses alone, either in a booked time slot or whenever it is free | Often allowed. Some need a reservation and have limited slots; others need no booking. Check the rules and any fee. | Booked: Yamamotoya, Ichinoi, Hotel Koryu (tattoo policy for this bath not stated). No advance booking: Fukuzumiro, Kashiwaya, Kadensho (heated water, not hot spring) |
| Public communal bath (大浴場) | Shared, gender-separated bath | Allowed only where the policy says so | Allowed: Yamamotoya, Fukuzumiro, Kashiwaya (per the inn’s own blog), Ichinoi, Hotel Koryu. Not allowed: Kadensho. Discretionary: KAI |
Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.
Tattoo restrictions and exceptions
- “No restrictions” means you can use every bath listed in the policy. Still follow normal bath etiquette.
- “Private baths only” means the shared bath is closed to you. Make sure a private bath or in-room bath is guaranteed for your stay.
- “Discretionary” wording (KAI) means staff may decide on the day. Treat the shared bath as a bonus, not your plan.
- Cover stickers are a different system, used by some places for small tattoos in shared baths. They rarely work for large pieces. Do not plan a ryokan stay around them.
For how private baths work in general, including time slots and etiquette, see our guide to using a private onsen with tattoos.
Best Areas to Stay
| Area | Getting there | Combine with | For travelers with tattoos |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kinosaki Onsen | About 2.5–3 hours by limited express train from Kyoto or Osaka | Kyoto, Amanohashidate | The town’s public bathhouses accept tattoos, so you have options beyond your ryokan |
| Hakone | About 1.5 hours from Shinjuku | Tokyo, Mt. Fuji views, Lake Ashi | Two very different options: historic Fukuzumiro or in-room baths at KAI Sengokuhara |
| Lake Kawaguchi | About 2 hours by bus or train from Tokyo | Mt. Fuji, Fuji Five Lakes | Hotel Koryu allows tattoos in its large bath |
| Shima Onsen | About 3–3.5 hours from Tokyo Station | Kusatsu, rural Gunma | Quiet, few crowds; Kashiwaya’s private baths need no booking |
| Kyoto (Arashiyama) | Inside Kyoto city | Bamboo grove, central Kyoto | Few Kyoto ryokan have natural hot springs. Check the water type as well as the tattoo rule |
| Kurokawa Onsen | Best by car or bus in central Kyushu | Aso, Beppu, Yufuin | Ichinoi has no restrictions; other inns differ |
Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.
Travel times are approximate and depend on the route and connection.
Staying in central Kyoto? Many city-center ryokan have ordinary baths rather than hot springs. For example, Nanzenji Yachiyo, on the approach to Nanzenji Temple, says on its official FAQ that guests with tattoos may bathe, and also states that its bath is not a natural hot spring. That is fine for a ryokan night, as long as you know what you are booking.
What about Beppu and Yufuin? They are excellent onsen areas, but we could not confirm a property-level tattoo policy plus private-bath details on official sites for the ryokan we checked. We will add them when we can. Meanwhile, use the questions below and our guide on how to find tattoo-friendly onsen.
How to Book a Ryokan with Tattoos
- Pick the bath first, then the ryokan. Decide whether you need an in-room bath or are happy with a shared private bath.
- Read the tattoo policy on the official website. Note which baths it covers. Screenshot it with the date.
- Choose the exact room type. At most ryokan, only some rooms have their own bath. The room name usually includes “open-air bath” or 露天風呂付.
- Check the private bath rules. Advance booking, at check-in, or first come? Fee? Time limit? Staying guests only?
- Book, preferably on the official site, especially if you need a specific room with a bath. Booking sites can show outdated room details.
- Reserve the private bath if the ryokan takes advance bookings (Yamamotoya and Hotel Koryu do).
- Arrive early where slots are allocated at check-in, such as Fukuzumiro and Ichinoi.
Questions to Ask Before Booking
If anything is unclear, send a short message. Mention your tattoo honestly, including where it is and roughly how big. A written answer is useful at check-in.
English
Subject: Tattoo policy and private bath – reservation question
Hello,
I am considering a stay on [date] for [number] guests in a [room type]. One of us has a tattoo on the [body part], about [size] cm.
1. Can a guest with this tattoo use your private bath and the bath in this room?
2. Can we use the shared bath, or should we use only the private bath?
3. Does the room’s bath use natural hot spring water?
4. Can we reserve the private bath in advance? Is there a fee or time limit?
Thank you,
[Your name]
Japanese
件名:タトゥーと貸切風呂についての質問(宿泊予約前)
ご担当者様
[日付]に[人数]名で、[部屋タイプ]への宿泊を検討しております。そのうち1名の[部位]に、約[大きさ]cmのタトゥーがあります。
1. この場合、貸切風呂とお部屋のお風呂は利用できますか。
2. 大浴場は利用できますか。それとも貸切風呂のみの利用となりますか。
3. お部屋のお風呂は天然温泉ですか。
4. 貸切風呂は事前に予約できますか。料金や利用時間の制限はありますか。
どうぞよろしくお願いいたします。
[氏名]
For a longer template that also covers day-use visits, see the private onsen email template.
Common Mistakes
- Assuming every private bath is tattoo-friendly. Many are, but the property decides. Look for a written policy.
- Assuming every private bath is a hot spring. At Kadensho, the private baths are heated water. In-room baths can be either.
- Booking a standard room by mistake. “Ryokan with open-air bath rooms” does not mean every room has one.
- Trusting a booking site’s “private bath” label. It may mean an en-suite bathroom, or the listing may be wrong. Hotel Koryu warns about this on its own site.
- Applying one inn’s policy to the whole town. Kinosaki’s public bathhouses allow tattoos, but each ryokan sets its own rule. The same is true in Kurokawa.
- Counting on a shared bath with “discretionary” wording. Plan around a bath you are sure you can use.
- Booking the wrong property with a similar name. Check the exact name and address on your confirmation.
FAQ
Are there tattoo-friendly ryokan in Japan?
Yes. Some ryokan state that they have no tattoo restrictions. Many more allow tattoos only in private or in-room baths. The seven places above put their policy in writing on their official websites, as of October 15, 2026, but the policies cover different baths, and not every private bath uses natural hot spring water.
Can I use a ryokan’s private onsen if I have tattoos?
Often, yes. Japan’s tourism agency notes that many ryokan let guests with tattoos use their private baths. But it is each ryokan’s decision, so check the policy for the specific bath.
What is the best option if I have large tattoos?
Usually a room with its own hot spring bath, at a property whose policy does not restrict tattoos. KAI Sengokuhara, where every room has an open-air hot spring bath, is the clearest example on this list. Even then, confirm the policy before you book.
Do I need to tell the ryokan about my tattoos?
If the policy is clear and covers the bath you will use, you usually do not need to. If anything is unclear, ask before booking and keep the reply.
Are tattoo-friendly ryokan more expensive?
Not necessarily. Prices depend on the area, room type and season. Rooms with their own bath usually cost more than standard rooms. A ryokan with tattoo-friendly shared or private baths can be the cheaper option.
Can I book these ryokan on hotel booking sites?
Sometimes. But booking sites rarely show tattoo policies and can show the wrong room type. If you need a room with a bath, booking on the official site is usually the better choice.
Final Recommendations
- First trip, want the full onsen-town experience: Yamamotoya in Kinosaki
- Couples, special occasions, large tattoos: KAI Sengokuhara (in-room hot spring bath)
- History lovers, near Tokyo: Fukuzumiro in Hakone
- Quiet countryside, no time slots: Kashiwaya in Shima Onsen
- Kyushu itinerary: Ryokan Ichinoi in Kurokawa
- Kyoto base: Kadensho, knowing the private baths are not hot spring water
- Mt. Fuji with family: Hotel Koryu, where the written policy covers the large bath
Before you pay, open the property’s official page again and confirm four things: the tattoo policy and which baths it covers, the room type with the bath you want, whether that bath uses hot spring water, and the private bath rules. Policies change, and the official website is always the final word.
Related onsen guides
Official sources (checked October 15, 2026)
- Yamamotoya: Onsen & Private Baths
- Visit Kinosaki: Tattoos in Kinosaki Onsen
- Fukuzumiro: FAQ (Japanese)
- Hoshino Resorts: Bathing guidelines
- Kashiwaya Ryokan: FAQ
- Ryokan Ichinoi: FAQ (Japanese/English)
- Kyoritsu Resort: FAQ (Japanese)
- Hotel Koryu: Official site and FAQ
- Nanzenji Yachiyo: Official site (Japanese)
- Japan Tourism Agency: Questions for Ryokan (Q18)
Tattoo policies, prices and bath rules are set by each property and can change. Always confirm with the property before you book.