You are here:

Onsen

Best Private Onsen Ryokan in Japan for First-Timers

The best private onsen ryokan in Japan for a first stay is one where you know exactly what kind of private hot spring bath you are getting before you book. Some ryokan put a hot spring bath in your room. Others give you a private hot spring bath that you book for 40 to 50 minutes. And some “rooms with an open-air bath” are filled with ordinary heated water, not hot spring water.

This guide compares six real ryokan in Hakone, Lake Kawaguchi, Kyoto, Arima, Kusatsu and Yufuin. Every one of them has natural hot spring water either in some or all guest rooms, or in a private bath inside the ryokan, and we confirmed this on each ryokan’s official website. For each one, we also checked the published tattoo rule and how booking works.

How to read this list

This is an editorial selection based on the criteria below. It is not a ranking from our own stays or from review scores, and we have not stayed at these properties. All facts come from each ryokan’s official website, checked on October 15, 2026. Rooms, fees and rules change, so confirm on the official site before you book.

Best Private Onsen Ryokan in Japan: Quick Comparison

Quick answer

  • Hot spring bath in every room: KAI Sengokuhara (Hakone). You cannot book a room without one.
  • Tattoos, or no shared baths at all: Taketoritei Maruyama (Arima Onsen, near Kobe). It has no public baths, eight free private hot spring baths for guests, and it calls itself tattoo-friendly.
  • Mt. Fuji views with a hot spring bath in the room: Shuhokaku Kogetsu (Lake Kawaguchi). Book a room type marked “open-air bath (onsen).”
  • Kyoto: Hanaikada in Arashiyama. Only 4 of its 15 rooms have a hot spring bath, so pick the room type carefully.
  • Kyushu: KAI Yufuin. Choose a room type with an open-air bath.
  • Strong onsen water: Naraya (Kusatsu), with three paid private baths of free-flowing spring water.
  • Tight budget: see the budget alternative, a simple inn with private hot spring baths and no meals.
RyokanLocationPrivate bath typeIn-room onsenTattoo policy (as published)Best forOfficial site
KAI SengokuharaHakone, KanagawaA: hot spring bath in every roomEvery roomGroup policy: no restriction based on tattoos alone; shared baths may be refused case by caseCouples who want no schedulingOfficial site
Taketoritei MaruyamaArima Onsen, KobeA (some rooms) + B: 8 free private baths, no shared bathsSome rooms (silver spring)“Tattoo friendly”Tattoos, Osaka/Kobe tripsOfficial site
Shuhokaku KogetsuLake Kawaguchi, YamanashiA (some room types) + B: 2 paid private bathsRoom types marked “onsen”Not stated on the pages we checkedMt. Fuji viewsOfficial site (Japanese)
HanaikadaArashiyama, KyotoA (4 of 15 rooms) + B: paid rooftop private bath4 rooms onlyNot stated on the pages we checkedKyoto itinerariesOfficial site (Japanese)
KAI YufuinYufuin, OitaA (selected room types)Selected room typesSame group policy as KAI SengokuharaKyushu tripsOfficial site
NarayaKusatsu Onsen, GunmaB: 3 paid private baths + A (1 suite)Iwakagami suite onlyShared baths: no. Paid private baths: allowedOnsen water loversOfficial site (Japanese)

Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.

A = hot spring bath in your own room. B = private hot spring bath inside the ryokan that you book or use in turn. See bath types below. Checked October 15, 2026.

How We Selected These Ryokan

We started with well-known onsen areas that first-time visitors can reach from Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka or Fukuoka. A ryokan made the main list only if it passed all of these checks:

  1. Real hot spring water in private. The official site shows that at least some guest rooms have a hot spring bath, or that the ryokan itself has a private hot spring bath. A private bath filled with heated tap water does not count. Neither does a private bath at a different property.
  2. Ryokan accommodation rather than a simple guest house. Japanese-style inns with guest services; meal plans vary by property and date. A simpler inn appears separately as a budget alternative.
  3. Clear booking rules. We could see how to book the room and how the private bath works (included or paid, reserved or first come).
  4. Realistic access. Reachable by train or bus, with a shuttle or short taxi ride at the end.
  5. English booking available. Each ryokan has an English booking page, though some websites are mostly in Japanese.

We did not include ryokan where the only evidence of a private onsen or a tattoo rule came from blogs or booking sites. Where an official site says nothing about tattoos, we say so instead of guessing.

Best Private Onsen Ryokan in Japan for First-Timers

1. KAI Sengokuhara (Hakone): Best for an Onsen Bath in Every Room

  • In-room onsen (every room)
  • Shared baths too

KAI Sengokuhara is a 16-room hot spring ryokan run by Hoshino Resorts. Its English site describes “private open-air hot spring baths in all rooms,” on each room’s terrace, and its hot spring page lists them under “enjoy onsen in your room.” The water is the milky, acidic spring piped from Owakudani. Because every room has one, this is the hardest place to book the wrong room.

Location
817-359 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Kanagawa
Access
About 15 minutes by taxi from Gora Station. The official site lists no shuttle service.
In-room onsen
Your terrace bath, any time during your stay. No time slots.
Shared baths
The shared bath offers hot and lukewarm pools supplied by spring water. Check the official onsen information for details about the other bathing areas.
Tattoos
The Hoshino Resorts FAQ says it does not restrict guests based on tattoos alone, but may refuse use of the shared baths if staff judge that tattoos could make other guests afraid. Your in-room bath is not shared.
Day use
Not offered. KAI baths are for staying guests only.
Rooms
1 to 3 guests per room. Children up to age 6 can share a bed.

Good for: couples, honeymoons and anyone who wants to bathe whenever they like.

Watch out for: the location is quiet and you will need a taxi from Gora. Room rates change by date, so check the official calendar.

2. Taketoritei Maruyama (Arima Onsen): Best for Tattoos and Total Privacy

  • In-room onsen (some rooms)
  • 8 free private onsen baths
  • Tattoo friendly
  • No dinner after Dec 30, 2026

Taketoritei Maruyama has no shared public baths. Instead, it has eight private hot spring baths, four outdoor baths on the 4th floor and four indoor baths on the 1st floor, all free for staying guests. They use Arima’s iron-rich “gold” water and clear “silver” water. Its English pages say “tattoo friendly,” and its Japanese page says guests with tattoos can use the facilities.

Location
1364-1 Arima-cho, Kita-ku, Kobe, Hyogo
Access
About 1 hour by express bus from JR Osaka or Hankyu Umeda, or about 30 minutes from Sannomiya. About 15 minutes’ walk from Arima’s station and bus stop. Free pick-up if you call on arrival; no booking needed.
Private baths (B)
Free. After check-in, you book a 45-minute slot, first come, first served. The water is hot spring water but not free-flowing (not kakenagashi).
In-room onsen (A)
Several suites and deluxe rooms have an indoor silver hot spring bath. Rooms 403, 404 and 411 have an outdoor silver onsen bath. Superior and standard rooms do not.
Day use
Not offered.
English
English website and English booking. Reservations are online only, not by phone.

Good for: travelers with tattoos, couples, and anyone nervous about shared baths. Arima fits easily into an Osaka or Kobe trip.

Watch out for: the official FAQ says dinner service will end permanently on December 30, 2026, and dinner bookings for 2026 are closed. Plan on breakfast only and eat dinner in town. The entrance has 13 steps and no ramp, and the private baths are up a further 10 steps.

3. Shuhokaku Kogetsu (Lake Kawaguchi): Best for Mt. Fuji Views

  • In-room onsen (selected room types)
  • 2 paid private onsen baths
  • Japanese-language site

Shuhokaku Kogetsu sits on the north shore of Lake Kawaguchi, and every room faces Mt. Fuji. Its official FAQ answers the key question directly: the in-room open-air baths and foot baths are all hot spring water. Room types with a bath are labeled “open-air bath (onsen)” on the room page. Standard rooms do not have one.

Location
2312 Kawaguchi, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Yamanashi
Access
Free pick-up from Kawaguchiko Station between 2:30 and 6:30 p.m.; call when you arrive. You can also take the lake sightseeing bus to the Kubota Itchiku Art Museum stop.
Private baths (B)
Two Mt. Fuji-view private open-air baths. ¥3,300 per group for 50 minutes. Staying guests only. No advance booking: you reserve after you arrive.
In-room onsen (A)
Open-air onsen bath in selected room types on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
Tattoos
Not stated on the pages we checked. Ask before you book if you plan to use the shared or private baths.
Day use
Not offered.
English
English booking engine. The website itself is mainly in Japanese.

Good for: couples and families who want a hot spring soak with a Fuji view without leaving the room.

Watch out for: the ryokan has posted a warning that some overseas travel sites list it without permission, with wrong room details or inflated prices, and recommends checking its own site. From January 25 to April 7, 2027, a dining room renovation limits most bookings to 2 or 3 guests per room (4 in the 2nd-floor open-air bath rooms). Cancellation fees start 21 days before arrival.

4. Hanaikada (Kyoto Arashiyama): Best for a Kyoto Itinerary

  • In-room onsen (4 rooms)
  • Paid private onsen bath
  • Japanese-language site

Central Kyoto has few true hot spring ryokan. Hanaikada, near Togetsukyo Bridge in Arashiyama, says all its baths use 100% Arashiyama Onsen water. Of its 15 rooms, two have an onsen bath (no view) and two detached “Sankaian” rooms have an open-air onsen bath. The other 11 rooms have no private bath, so this is a ryokan where the room type decides everything.

Location
57 Arashiyama Nakaoshimo-cho, Nishikyo-ku, Kyoto
Access
5 minutes’ walk from Hankyu Arashiyama Station. From Kyoto Station, about 20 minutes on the JR Sagano Line to Saga-Arashiyama, then about 5 minutes by car. Free pick-up from JR Saga-Arashiyama for staying guests; call the ryokan on the day.
Private bath (B)
Rooftop private open-air bath: ¥2,200 per group for 40 minutes, reservation required, last entry 11:00 p.m. Only for staying or dining guests.
In-room onsen (A)
4 rooms: 2 “onsen bath” rooms and 2 detached rooms with an open-air onsen bath.
Tattoos
Not stated on the pages we checked, including the FAQ and the terms of stay. Ask before you book if you plan to use the shared or rooftop private bath.
English
English booking engine. Most of the website is in Japanese.

Good for: travelers spending several nights in Kyoto who want one onsen night without leaving the city.

Watch out for: check-out is 10:00 a.m. (11:00 a.m. for the detached rooms), and the terms list a midnight curfew. Cancellation fees start 7 days before arrival.

5. KAI Yufuin (Oita): Best for Kyushu

  • In-room onsen (selected room types)
  • Free station shuttle

KAI Yufuin looks out over terraced rice fields toward Mt. Yufu. Its Japanese hot spring page says several room types have a private open-air bath where you can enjoy the onsen in your own space. Not all 45 rooms have one, so filter for an open-air-bath room when you search.

Location
398 Kawakami, Yufuin-cho, Yufu, Oita
Access
About 2.5 hours by limited express from Hakata to Yufuin Station, then about 10 minutes by taxi. Free shuttle from JR Yufuin Station at 2, 3, 4 and 5 p.m.; book it by 6 p.m. four days before your stay.
Water
Yufuin Onsen, simple spring, free-flowing with some water added.
Tattoos
Same Hoshino Resorts policy as KAI Sengokuhara.
Day use
Not offered.

Good for: travelers combining Fukuoka with a night in an onsen town.

Watch out for: the shuttle needs advance booking. For winter visits, the ryokan recommends public transport because roads may be icy.

6. Naraya (Kusatsu Onsen): Best for Serious Onsen Water

  • 3 paid private onsen baths
  • In-room onsen (1 suite)
  • Japanese-language site

Naraya stands about a minute’s walk from Kusatsu’s famous Yubatake and draws the historic Shirahata spring. Its three private open-air baths use ceramic tubs filled with free-flowing Shirahata water. The FAQ states that guests with tattoos cannot use the large shared baths, but can use the paid private baths.

Location
396 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun, Gunma
Access
JR to Naganohara-Kusatsuguchi Station, then about 25 minutes by JR bus to Kusatsu Onsen Bus Terminal. The ryokan is 5 minutes’ walk away and will pick you up if you call.
Private baths (B)
3 rooms. ¥3,300 per room for 45 minutes. Open to staying guests 24 hours. No advance reservations: you book at check-in.
In-room onsen (A)
Only the Iwakagami suite, with a semi-open-air bath of free-flowing Shirahata water and a view of the Yubatake. The ryokan asks that children not stay in this room.
Tattoos
Large baths: no. Small tattoos that stickers can fully cover: allowed in the large baths. Paid private baths: allowed.
English
The official site provides an “English” link to its online booking widget, but the English reservation flow has not been independently tested for this guide. Check the room details carefully, and use a translation tool if any part appears in Japanese.

Good for: travelers who want strong, free-flowing hot spring water in a lively onsen town.

Watch out for: the inn has many stairs and no wheelchair access, and there is no parking on site.

Budget Alternative: Fuji-Hakone Guest House

  • Private indoor and outdoor onsen
  • Tattoos welcome
  • Not a full-service ryokan

Fuji-Hakone Guest House is a family-run, Japanese-style inn in Sengokuhara, Hakone. It is not in the main list because it is not a full-service ryokan: there are no meals, and rooms have no private bathroom or toilet. But its natural hot spring baths, fed from Owakudani, are private use only, and the inn says guests do not need to worry about tattoos.

Location
Sengokuhara, Hakone. 1 minute’s walk from the Senkyoro-mae bus stop.
Access
From Odawara Station East Exit, take the “T” line bus from lane 4 toward Togendai, about 50 minutes. Or take the Odakyu Hakone Expressway Bus from Shinjuku, about 2 hours. The guest house currently lists the last bus from Odawara at 7:35 p.m.; check the latest operator timetable before travelling.
Private baths for guests
Indoor bath included in the room rate. Outdoor bath ¥500 per person, advertised as free on the inn’s official-website-only plan. How guests book a bath time is not stated; ask at check-in.
Day use
Private onsen for day visitors, 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., ¥1,500 per person per hour (towel ¥300). Reserve by the day before.
Published rates
Twin room from ¥16,500 per room per night, without meals, plus ¥150 local tax per person. Weekend and peak surcharges apply.
House rules
Check-in 3 to 6 p.m., check-out 10 a.m., curfew 11 p.m. Cards (Visa, Mastercard) for room charges only; taxes in cash.

When the “Open-Air Bath” in Your Room Is Not Onsen

Many travelers book a “room with a private open-air bath” and assume it is a hot spring. These two well-known ryokan show why you need to read the room notes. They are not in our main list for that reason, though both are real, well-reviewed ryokan.

Ubuya (Lake Kawaguchi)

Several room types have a private open-air bath with a view of Mt. Fuji. But Ubuya’s own Japanese Q&A says the in-room baths are not hot spring water; only the large shared bath is. No private onsen bath is listed. In the large bath, tattoos are allowed only if two 10 cm × 10 cm cover sheets hide them. If you want a hot spring in your room at Lake Kawaguchi, look at Shuhokaku Kogetsu instead. Ubuya Q&A (Japanese)

Nishimuraya Honkan and Kinosaki Onsen

Nishimuraya Honkan has several rooms with a private open-air bath, but its Sakura and Hatsune room pages say the water is regular heated water, not hot spring water. Its sister hotel, Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei, also says its own in-room open-air baths use regular heated water and attributes this to local rules in Kinosaki Onsen. Check the water source for the specific room and property rather than assuming that every private outdoor bath is an onsen.

For private hot spring water, guests of either hotel can book the private onsen spa at Shogetsutei, a separate building about 10 minutes away on foot or by free shuttle: ¥8,800 for 70 minutes (1 to 4 people), staying guests only, limited slots, requested through the contact form. Nishimuraya Honkan also requires guests to be 10 or older. Kinosaki’s public bathhouses accept tattoos of all sizes, according to the town’s official tourism site. Shogetsutei private onsen spa · Visit Kinosaki: tattoo info

Private Onsen in Your Room vs Reservable Private Bath

The most common first-timer mistake is booking a “private onsen” and getting something different. Use this table to match the listing to what you will actually get.

TypeJapanese termHow it worksExamples in this guide
A. In-room private onsen温泉露天風呂付客室 / 露天風呂付(温泉)A bath in your room, any time. Look for 温泉 (hot spring) in the room name or notes.KAI Sengokuhara, Shuhokaku Kogetsu, Hanaikada, KAI Yufuin, Taketoritei Maruyama, Naraya (Iwakagami)
In-room bath, not onsen露天風呂付客室Private and often outdoor, but filled with heated tap waterUbuya, Nishimuraya Honkan
B. Reservable private bath貸切風呂A bath inside the ryokan you use alone for 40 to 50 minutes. Free or paid. Booked in advance, at check-in or first come.Taketoritei Maruyama (free), Shuhokaku Kogetsu, Naraya and Hanaikada (paid), Fuji-Hakone Guest House
C. Family bath家族風呂Same idea as B, marketed to families and couples; common at day-use facilitiesTaketoritei Maruyama’s Japanese site also calls its private baths “family baths”

Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.

For a full explanation of how private baths work, see our guide to private onsen in Japan.

Best Areas in Japan for a Private Onsen Ryokan

AreaEasiest fromWhy goIn this guide
HakoneTokyoMost choice, from budget to luxuryKAI Sengokuhara; Fuji-Hakone Guest House (budget)
Lake KawaguchiTokyoMt. Fuji viewsShuhokaku Kogetsu
KusatsuTokyoVery strong onsen waterNaraya
Arashiyama, KyotoKyotoOnsen without leaving KyotoHanaikada
ArimaOsaka, KobeAbout an hour by bus from OsakaTaketoritei Maruyama
YufuinFukuokaCountryside onsen town in KyushuKAI Yufuin
KinosakiKyoto, OsakaClassic bathhouse town; check each room’s water sourceSee the note above

Swipe the table sideways to see all columns.

If you have only one onsen night on a Tokyo–Kyoto trip, Hakone and Arashiyama are the easiest to fit in. For train basics, see how to use trains in Japan.

How Much Does a Private Onsen Ryokan Cost?

Room rates at these ryokan change by date, room type, number of guests and meal plan, so we do not quote typical nightly prices. These are the fixed bath prices the official sites publish:

  • Taketoritei Maruyama: private baths free for staying guests.
  • Hanaikada: rooftop private bath, ¥2,200 per group for 40 minutes.
  • Shuhokaku Kogetsu: private bath, ¥3,300 per group for 50 minutes.
  • Naraya: private bath, ¥3,300 per room for 45 minutes.
  • KAI Sengokuhara and KAI Yufuin: no extra charge for the in-room bath; it is part of the room.
  • Budget alternative: Fuji-Hakone Guest House twin room from ¥16,500 per night without meals; outdoor private bath ¥500 per person.

Prices as published on October 15, 2026, including tax where stated. Bathing tax and surcharges may be added.

To compare room prices fairly, search the same date on each official site for 2 adults and check three things. Is the price per person or per room? Are dinner and breakfast included? Does the room type include a hot spring bath? A room with an in-room onsen almost always costs more than a standard room at the same ryokan.

How to Book a Private Onsen Ryokan in Japan

  1. Choose the bath type first. Decide whether you need A (onsen in your room) or whether B (a private onsen you book) is enough.
  2. Open the official booking page. Each ryokan has an official online reservation route. Some offer an English-language option, but verify that the booking page works for your dates and room type.
  3. Filter for the right room. Look for “open-air bath” or “onsen bath” in the room name, then read the room notes for the water source.
  4. Read the private bath rules. Free or paid? Booked in advance, at check-in or first come? Hours?
  5. Arrange transport. KAI Yufuin’s shuttle needs booking four days ahead. Shuhokaku Kogetsu, Naraya and Taketoritei Maruyama ask you to call on arrival.
  6. Check arrival time and cancellation. Ryokan dinners start at fixed times, and cancellation fees can start up to 21 days before arrival.
  7. Save your confirmation. If you asked about tattoos or bath times by email, keep the reply.

Are Private Onsen Ryokan Tattoo-Friendly?

Often, but not automatically. Each ryokan sets its own rules. Among the six in the main list:

  • Clearly welcoming: Taketoritei Maruyama says it is tattoo-friendly, and it has no shared baths.
  • Private bath yes, shared bath no: Naraya allows tattoos in its paid private baths but not in the large baths.
  • Conditional shared baths: Hoshino Resorts (both KAI properties) does not restrict guests based on tattoos alone, but may refuse shared-bath use case by case.
  • Not stated: Shuhokaku Kogetsu and Hanaikada. Ask before you book.

An in-room onsen is the simplest choice, because nobody else uses it. For how to ask a ryokan about tattoos, with an English and Japanese email template, see tattoo-friendly private onsen in Japan. For public baths, see tattoo-friendly onsen in Japan.

Common Booking Mistakes to Avoid

  • Assuming “open-air bath” means hot spring. Ubuya and certain rooms at Nishimuraya Honkan use ordinary heated water. Read the notes for the exact room you book.
  • Booking the cheapest room at a ryokan known for private baths. At Hanaikada, Shuhokaku Kogetsu and KAI Yufuin, only some room types have an onsen bath.
  • Expecting to reserve a private bath before you arrive. Naraya and Shuhokaku Kogetsu take bookings only after you arrive, and Taketoritei Maruyama is first come, first served. Check in early on busy days.
  • Booking through an unknown overseas site. Shuhokaku Kogetsu has warned about wrong room details and inflated prices on some overseas sites. The official site is the safest place to confirm the room.
  • Missing access limits. Naraya and Taketoritei Maruyama have stairs and no step-free access.
  • Assuming dinner is included. Taketoritei Maruyama is ending dinner service, and the budget alternative has no meals.

Once you have booked, our onsen etiquette guide covers how to bathe, step by step.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best private onsen ryokan in Japan for first-timers?

For a hot spring bath in every room, KAI Sengokuhara in Hakone. For travelers with tattoos or who want no shared baths at all, Taketoritei Maruyama in Arima. For Mt. Fuji views with an in-room onsen, Shuhokaku Kogetsu. The best choice depends on your route and budget.

Is a “room with an open-air bath” always a real onsen?

No. Ubuya’s official Q&A and Nishimuraya Honkan’s room pages both say their in-room open-air baths are not hot spring water. Look for 温泉 (onsen) in the room name or notes, or ask.

Can couples bathe together in a private onsen?

Yes. In-room baths and private baths are for your own group, so couples can use them together. See can couples use onsen together in Japan.

Can I bring children?

It depends on the room. KAI properties allow children up to age 6 to share a bed. Naraya asks that children not stay in its Iwakagami suite. For tips, see private onsen in Japan with children.

Can I use a private onsen without staying overnight?

At most ryokan here, no: KAI, Shuhokaku Kogetsu and Taketoritei Maruyama do not offer day bathing. Fuji-Hakone Guest House offers private onsen to day visitors from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. for ¥1,500 per person per hour, booked by the day before. Naraya and Hanaikada have limited day-use options with their own fees and conditions.

Do I need to speak Japanese to book?

Many of these ryokan provide an English booking option, but some websites are mainly in Japanese. Naraya links to an English-language booking widget whose actual operation we have not tested. If needed, use a translation tool and confirm the room type directly with the property.

Final Recommendations: Which Ryokan Should You Choose?

  • Couples who want onsen in the room, no scheduling: KAI Sengokuhara.
  • Travelers with tattoos: Taketoritei Maruyama, or Fuji-Hakone Guest House on a budget.
  • Mt. Fuji views: Shuhokaku Kogetsu, in a room type marked “open-air bath (onsen).”
  • Staying in Kyoto: Hanaikada, in one of its four onsen-bath rooms.
  • Visiting Fukuoka or Kyushu: KAI Yufuin, in a room type with an open-air bath.
  • Onsen water first: Naraya in Kusatsu.

Whichever you choose, confirm three things on the official site before paying: the bath type, that the water is a hot spring, and the tattoo rule if it matters to you.

  • この記事を書いた人

Japan Travel Essentials

Takeo is based in Japan and creates practical travel guides for international visitors. He shares local insights on transportation, internet access, money, etiquette, and everyday travel in Japan to help first-time visitors enjoy a smoother and more comfortable trip.

-Onsen